Many or all of the companies featured here provide compensation to us. These commissions are how we maintain our free service for consumers. Compensation, along with hours of in-depth editorial research, determines where & how companies appear below. Learn more

Healthy Paws Pet Insurance Review

2,832 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Our content is free because we may earn a commission when you click or make a purchase using our site. Learn more.
Healthy Paws is a pet insurance company based in Washington state that provides coverage for cats and dogs. They are underwritten by Chubb Group, a consistently highly-rated insurer.

Healthy Paws offers an industry-leading suite of policies that include unlimited lifetime benefits, high reimbursement, affordable coverage, and top rated customer service.

How is Healthy Paws rated?

Breakdown

4.5/5
Coverage
5.0/5
Cost
5.0/5
Extras

Overall Rating: 4.9 / 5 (Excellent)

Healthy Paws consistently ranks highly across all of our ranking factors. The company offers solid, comprehensive coverage with no caps of any kind.

Reimbursement is based on the cost of your actual vet bill and there is no limit as to the type of or how many claims you can make for covered conditions. Healthy Paws provides all of this at the same or sometimes lower less comprehensive plans.

Healthy Paws Coverage

Coverage - 4.5 / 5

Compared to other pet insurance providers, Healthy Paws offers the most comprehensive coverage and does so without any caps or limits. Policies cover all accidents and illnesses without restrictions for hereditary or congenital conditions.

The company also includes services like advanced testing, surgeries, hospital stays, and prescription medications, as well as alternative therapies and emergency care.

Healthy Paws does not have a wellness plan, but they will treat canine hip dysplasia if it is not a pre-existing condition.
Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out-of-State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care

Benefit Limits

Benefit Limits - 5 / 5

Where Healthy Paws really asserts its dominance is in benefit limits. Regardless of the plan you choose, there are no caps on coverage, either annual, lifetime, or per incident.

Generally speaking, other companies offer unlimited benefits as an option of only their highest level and most expensive plans. This is not the case with Healthy Paws, it is included in their standard price plan.

As long as the condition or treatment is covered under the plan a very few restrictions do apply) there is no limit to what the company will pay to make your animal well.

One Healthy Paws customer reported to us that the company recently paid out over $18,000 on a $20,000 vet bill in order to save the life of a dog suffering from cancer. More recently, another customer wrote, "I have a six-year-old German shepherd. Unfortunately, he already has had more than his share of problems, from herniated discs to cancer. Healthy Paws has not given me any hassle or trouble, even though his expenses to date are approaching $40,000. This was by far the best financial decision I have ever made."
Benefit Limit Types
Unlimited

Reimbursement & Deductibles

Reimbursement - 5 / 5

As with deductibles, Healthy Paws is in line with the industries best companies by allowing you the flexibility of customizing your reimbursement percentage as well.

You can select either 70%, 80%, or 90% at the outset of your policy. Healthy Paws reimbursement is based on the actual veterinary bill.

The company will compile all covered treatments for a given claim and pay your chosen percent after you've met the deductible. As with low deductibles, high percentage payouts are going to equal a more costly monthly premium.
In general, Healthy Paws pays on a reimbursement model. Policyholders pay the vet up front for treatment, submit their claims to Healthy Paws, and receive a reimbursement. However, in situations where pet owners can't pay their vet at the time of treatment, they have the option of contacting Healthy Paws and asking them to pay the vet directly. If the veterinary hospital is willing to accept payment from Healthy Paws, the insurer can work directly with it to expedite access to medical records and claim processing. This direct payment option is available on a case-by-case basis and applies to treatment by any licensed vet in the United States. It is not limited to any specific network of vets.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Deductibles - 5 / 5

Like all the best pet insurance companies, Healthy Paws allows you to customize your deductible to best suit your financial needs.

Values can be set at $100, $250, and $500. Lower deductibles do result in higher premiums. But many customers will appreciate the flexibility Healthy Paws offers.
Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$100
Maximum Deductible Offered
$500

Pricing: How much does Healthy Paws cost?

Cost - 5 / 5

Considering the few benefit limits Healthy Paws imposes and the company's customizable payout percentages and deductibles, Healthy Paws plans are reasonably priced and even cheaper than less substantial plans.

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dog: Sample Monthly Premium, 1 year old male Golden Retriever in zip code 92683
$32.83
Cat: Sample Monthly Premium, 1 year old male American Shorthair in zip code 92683
$17.19
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $500, Benefit Cap: Annual & Unlimited, Reimbursement Model: 70% of Annual Cost
Available Discounts:

Enrollment & Waiting Periods

Enrollment - 5 / 5

Healthy Paws enrolls pets 8 weeks and older. While some companies have no upper age enrollment restrictions, Healthy Paws limits coverage to 13.99 years old and younger.

Some companies offer accident coverage immediately upon premium payment. Healthy Paws imposes a 15-day waiting period for accidents and illnesses.

The waiting period for hip dysplasia is 12 months. Healthy Paws will not cover hip dysplasia if the pet was 6 years or older at the time of enrollment. Other companies we review have no such restrictions on hip dysplasia.

For pets younger than 6 you'll have to provide documentation of a complete physical within the last 12 months. Pets older than 6 must have had a complete examination within the last 30 days.
Min Enrollment Age
8 weeks
Max Enrollment Age
14 years
Accident Waiting Period
15 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
15 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Claims & Service

Extras - 5 / 5

Healthy Paws has a proven track record of fulfilling claims fast and with as little fuss as possible compared to other pet insurance companies.

Customer support is efficient and courteous and available 7 days a week. With Healthy Paws, you have the ability to file a claim online or through their mobile app.

You simply submit the veterinarian invoice and the company will send you the reimbursement check. 99% of claims are processed in 2 days.
Advertised Response Time
3 days
Claim Form
Email
Fax
Online Portal
Mobile App

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
11120 NE 33rd Place, Bellevue, WA, 98004
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 50034, Bellevue, WA, 98105
Year Founded
2009

Leave a comment for Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Minimum 12 words.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

2832 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
mishok.sh

11/26/2020
My two dogs are insured with healthypaws for a while, so far luckily, I didn't have any large claims. Recently my dog had to undergo an expensive surgery (more than 5000$) and I had to file a claim. My experience was amazing! Never had such experience with any insurance company. Although they replied that it can take upto 10 business days to review the claim(which by itself isn't long), they reviewed and approved the claim within 1 day without any issues! I've received the check by the end of the week. Later they also communicated to check up on my pup. Examplary service, I'm definitely a happy customer.

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
mishok.sh- We are so sorry that you dog had to undergo such a big surgery, we hope that the recovery is going well. Thank you very much for the kind words regarding our amazing customer service and quick reimbursements. We are so pleased to hear that you are so happy with your coverage.Please give your babies a big hug from us!

Connor P

11/25/2020
Healthy Paws have been so helpful with my dog Juni who recently went through knee surgery. Claim process were quick and easy that can be done through their mobile apps or by email. The claims are usually in process status within 2-3 business days after claims have been submitted and paid out 2-3 business days after that directly into our bank account. The premiums are affordable and it's a yearly deductible rather than per visit. I do wish that their mobile app allows us to upload invoice in pdf formats though as electronic receipts are becoming more common.

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Connor- We are so sorry that Juni had to go through knee surgery, we hope that his recovery is going well. We're glad that our quick claims turnaround time on reimbursements help alleviate stress on your finances. We are always making improvements to our mobile app, we do appreciate the suggestion! Please give Juni a big hug from us!

B
Brian T

11/23/2020
I adopted 3 rescue kittens when they were 4 weeks of age in 2017. After I got them home, I searched online for pet insurance (this is the first time I have had pets) and Healthy Paws had good online reviews so I went with them. It's a good thing I did, one of the rescues (Mittens) recently developed bladder stones (she's only 2.5 years old) and the vet said surgery was the only option. With Healthy Paws insurance, my final out of pocket cost was $1,600 on a $6,300 vet bill. Getting pet insurance was probably the smartest decision I've made -- the monthly premiums are quite low for the 3 but when a health issue arrives, you will be so grateful that you have insurance. Healthy Paws... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Brian- Thank you so much for such high praise regarding Healthy Paws comprehensive coverage, excellent customer service and easy claims processing. It is so good to hear that Healthy Paws has been able to be there to relieve the financial stress when Mittens had bladder stones. Please give all three of your babies big hugs for us!

B
Belinda M

11/21/2020
My husband and I made the choice to go with Healthy Paws a little over five years ago when we purchased our mini Poodle. We researched many different companies before making our final decision. We have not regretted our decision even once over the years. The first 4 years Samson was very healthy, but this past year things changed quickly. Samson developed cataracts on both eyes that progressed very quickly. Thanks to Healthy Paws insurance we were able to afford surgery to remove both cataracts. Samson had a complication with his left eye resulting in Retinal Detachment. Again, we were able to see an Ophthalmologist (one of 5 in the world that does this) that specializes in reattachment... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Belinda- We are so sorry to hear that Samson had to go through cataract surgery and the retinal detachment. Hopefully, his eyes are doing much better now. Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your story about Samson, it's folks like you who are helping to raise awareness about the importance of having pet insurance for our furry friends. Please give Samson a big hug from us!

R
Rachel

11/21/2020
After much research, I selected Healthy Paws pet insurance after rescuing my two puppies. Since they were rescues, I didn’t know what to expect from a medical background. I am so thankful for Healthy Paws services, professionalism and responsiveness. My one rescue was only 6 months when we learned she was going to need very expensive elbow surgery. Healthy Paws made an impossible decision so much easier. Without them, we would have not been able to afford the surgery. The ongoing prognosis required ongoing medication, all of which has continued to be covered. I fully expected, as with most human insurance companies, things to get denied or pushed back. This never happened as long as it was... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Rachel-Thank you for the kind words regarding our outstanding coverage and customer service. We are so happy to hear that you have been so pleased with your Healthy Paws pet insurance. Please give your babies big hugs from us!

boonott1

11/20/2020
Got my pup in March of 2020 and went with Healthy Paws insurance. Absolutely No complaints. EASY to submit a claim, EXTREMELY fast turnaround in payment. The app is super easy to use as well. Im glad I got the insurance because my pup has been having a rough time this year with some stomach issues. I don't know how future years will be but this year having the insurance was well worth it! Hope yo not have to use it year after year but it is good to know its there, you just never no. My monthly payment isn't too bad either. Comes out to about just a couple of cents over a dollar a day! Worth the peace of mind. The costumer service is excellent. In the beginning (being new to pet... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
boonott1 - thanks for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our customer service, efficient claims processing, quick reimbursement and easy to use phone app. We glad we can play a part in making sure your pup has access to the best available medical care. Give your baby a big hug from us.

J
Jill B

11/19/2020
Healthy Paws has made me wonder if they are a scam. They claim my dog’s UTI is actually pre-existing prostatic disease. This was determined by a review of symptoms even in the face of a definitive diagnosis. A guess at best as they won’t cover the MRI to determine. With the two organs certainly separate and the issues occurring after insurance was purchased. You just gotta wonder. Is this company legitimate and do they really care about helping your pet? Their pre-existing claims are dubious at best and their alleged third party vet that they send cases to in dispute are kept anonymous. If it was legitimate, why would they do this. Should be public knowledge, wouldn’t you think. How can... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Jill, We're sorry that your baby is having urinary tract issues. We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee (veterinary exam fee). Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted in those records by your veterinarian. Since it was noted that your pet displayed clinical signs of the urinary issues prior to the policy effective date we are unable to cover any treatment for this condition. Per your request, a formal request for a 3rd party appeal was initiated for your claims. As our policy states, an independent third party veterinarian is to be appointed by us and their decision on the appeal is final and binding on all parties. As our Customer care team member covered with you, this veterinarian is not on our payroll and is not a Healthy Paws employee. Our team provided you with the details of the third party veterinarian's findings and decision on the appeal via email. Give your baby a big hug from us. The Healthy Paws Team

W
wattnone2

11/18/2020
Unbeknownst to us, our English bulldog puppy, Bow, came to us with a wide variety of maladies, probably due to poor breeding practices. A friend suggested that I get pet insurance because veterinary care has become expensive. She suggested the one she used, but I investigated a number of companies and chose Healthy Paws. Bow has had multiple eye surgeries, multiple leg surgeries and she has now developed some sort of liver ailments. Over a 5 year period, they have reimbursed me thousands of dollars. You may choose different levels of reimbursement - I chose 70%. They made it easy to file a claim by simply posting a picture of the bill via a cell telephone app. I have always... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Wattnone2- We are so sorry to hear that your sweet pup Bow has had to deal with some unfortunate health issues over the years. Having a sick or injured fur baby is very stressful and scary and almost always very, very expensive. Healthy Paws allows pet parents to focus on what really matters, the health of their pets, rather than the cost of their care. Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your story. We are so happy that Healthy Paws has been there for your and your fur baby when you needed us the most. Please give Bow one more big hug from us!

C
catherine

11/17/2020
I've had my babies insured with Healthy Paws since 2015, and for first couple years I thought about removing it because we hadn't used it. So glad we didn't. Three years ago one of my boys had to have TPLO surgery and we just didn't have the upfront money that you're supposed to pay. After speaking with my vet and Healthy Paws they agreed to do a direct pay. Day of surgery came and they were true to their word, what's more they sent the payment over within 24 hours of receiving final bill. What's more they follow up with me via email and phone to see how Chance was doing and even sent him a get well soon post card. Most recently we've also had to get two growths removed on Chance. Again,... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Catherine - We are sorry to hear about Chances major leg surgery and recent growth removals. Having a fur baby go through a major surgery is never easy and we are so happy to hear that Chance is doing much better now. Thank you for the kind words regarding our caring customer service and comprehensive coverage. Please give Chance a another big hug from us!

N
Natalie W

11/17/2020
Healthy Paws has been a wonderful insurance provider for our pet family. We are huge animal lovers and currently have two Boston Terriers and we also had two other Boston Terriers that have since passed away in 2016 and 2018. Every single one of our dogs has been covered by Healthy Paws insurance and the claims process is incredibly easy and super smooth, unlike any other insurance company that I've ever dealt with. In addition, they have covered some expensive procedures on our pets and always allow us to make the right health decisions for our pets based only on their quality of life and not the cost of health care. I cannot express how much this alone has meant to us. The staff at... Read More

Tim  
Official Response

Customer Care of Healthy Paws Pet Insurance
Natalie - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your dog's story and for all the kind words regarding Healthy Paws amazing pet insurance. Our condolences on your passed pups. We are so happy that Healthy Paws has been such a helpful addition to your family. Having Healthy Paws means you'll never have to worry about being able to afford the very best veterinary medical care if another emergency arises. Again thank you so much for the kind words and please give your fur babies another big hug from us!


Top Rated
Our Partner
  • Chosen most often by visitors who get a quote or buy
  • #1 company for customer satisfaction
  • Top-rated choice by both LA Times & Seattle Times
  • A+ BBB - accredited with over 97 out of 100 rating
  • Comprehensive illness and accident coverage
  • Unlimited lifetime benefits + no claim caps!
  • Annual deductible (recommended)

Clicky